Stories tagged Girl Town

Visiting Artist: Carolyn Nowak

Image result for Carolyn C. Nowak Girl Town top shelf"

Carolyn C. Nowak is the Ignatz-award-winning artist and author of Girl Town (Top Shelf, 2018). This Eisner-nominated collection of stories deals with intimacy, codependency and female friendship. She deeply believes in the power of comics and stories.

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: Carolyn Nowak, Girl Town, Top Shelf, Visiting Artist

The Cartoonist Studio Prize: The Shortlists

The seventh annual award for best print and web comic of the year, from Slate and The Center for Cartoon Studies. Read the full story on!

Best Print Comic of the Year: 2018 Shortlist

Chlorine Gardens by Keiler Roberts. Koyama Press.
Girl Town by Carolyn Nowak. Top Shelf.
Passing for Human by Liana Finck. Random House.
Poochytown by Jim Woodring. Fantagraphics.
Space Academy 123 by Mickey Zacchilli. Koyama Press.
Tongues No. 2 by Anders Nilsen. No Miracles.
Why Art? by Eleanor Davis. Fantagraphics.
Windowpane by Joe Kessler. Breakdown.
Yellow Negroes and Other Imaginary Creatures by Yvan Alagbé. New York Review Comics.
Young Frances by Hartley Lin. AdHouse.

Best Web Comic of the Year: 2018 Shortlist

“As Before, So Behind” by Ted Closson.
“Being an Artist and a Mother” by Lauren Weinstein.
Comics by Tara Booth.
The Girl Who Flew Away by M. Dean.
“Having a Role in Life” by Elísabet Rún, translated by Unnur Bjarnadóttir.
Nancy by Olivia Jaimes.
“Sylvia Plath’s Last Plan” by Summer Pierre.
This Modern World by Tom Tomorrow.
Three Comics by E.A. Bethea.
“A Trip to the Museum With Cartoonist John Porcellino” by Gabrielle Bell.

Congratulations to all!

Tags: Anders Nilsen, Carolyn Nowak, cartoonist studio prize, E.A. Bethea, Eleanor Davis, Elísabet Rún, Fantagraphics, Gabrielle Bell, Girl Town, Hartley Lin, Jim Woodring, Joe Kessler, Keiler Roberts, Koyama Press, Lauren Weinstein, Liana Finck, M. Dean, Mickey Zacchilli, Nancy, Oliveia Jaimes, Print Comic of the Year, Shortlist, Slate, Space Academy 123, Summer Pierre, Tara Booth, Ted Closson, Tongues No. 2, Top Shelf, Web Comic of the Year, Why Art?, Young Frances, Yvan Alagbé