Stories tagged awards

CCS faculty and grads in the Harvey Awards

Image result for the nib harvey award

Nominees for the 2019 Harvey Awards have been announced and there are a lot of great books from CCS grads on the list. Anyone working in the comics industry can vote until September 10 (though you must apply first). The winners will be announced at New York Comic-Con on October 4.

Cover of Berlin by Jason Lutes

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: Avery Hill Publishing, awards, Berlin, Drawn and Quarterly, Eleri Harris, First Second, Graphic Novel, Harvey Awards, Jason Lutes, Kid Gloves, Lucy Knisley, Matt Bors, New York Comic-Con, nominees, On A Sunbeam, Sophie Yanow, The Contradictions, The Nib, Tillie Walden

CCS grads and faculty in the Ringo Awards

Nominees for the Ringo Awards have been announced. Both fans and professionals can vote until September 18. Winners will be announced at Baltimore Comic-Con on October 19.

The Contradictions by Sophie Yanow ′16 is up for Best Webcomic. Sophie’s fictional autobiography follows her year abroad in France.

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: Alec Longstreth, awards, Baltimore Comic-Con, Be Prepared, Berlin, CCS Alumni, Drawn and Quarterly, First Second, Jason Lutes, nominees, Ringo Awards, Sophie Yanow, The Contradictions, Vera Brogsol, webcomic

CCS Alum at the Harvey Awards

The Harvey Awards are coming up and The Center for Cartoon Studies (CCS) alum Tillie Walden ′16 and Chuck Forsman ′08 both make appearances. The nominees were selected by comics professionals, and winners will be voted on by all industry professionals.

Tillie’s Spinning (First Second) is up for not only Best Children’s or Young Adult Book but also for Book of the Year. Spinning already won an Eisner for Best Reailty-Based Work. And The End of the XXXXing World TV series, adapted as a Netflix Original Series from Chuck’s comic of the same name (now out from Fantagraphics), is up for Best Adaptation from a Comic Book/Graphic Novel.

The End of the F***ing World

Tags: awards, Charles Forsman, Chuck Forsman, Fantagraphics, First Second, Harvey Awards, netflix, TEOTFW, Tillie Walden

Art Spiegelman Awarded the MacDowell Medal

Art Spiegelman is the first-ever cartoonist to receive the Edward MacDowell Medal. MacDowell is one of the nation’s leading contemporary arts organizations, and it has been awarding this medal annually since 1960 to artists who have made an outstanding contribution to American culture.

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: Ana Merino, Art Spiegelman, awards, Cartoon Studies, cartoonist, Edward MacDowell Medal, Francoise Mouly, Graphic Novel, James Sturm, MacDowell, Michelle Ollie, RAW

Alum Spotlight: Melanie Gillman, award superstar

As The Crow Flies

Melanie Gillman ′14 is sweeping the awards this year. With more awards to come, they have already won four awards. As the Crow Flies (Iron Circus Comics) was recently collected into volume 1 from the web comic and is rocking it through the awards already:

Melanie won a DINK Award, Best Minicomic, for Pockets, which is a short set in the As the Crow Flies universe

Congratulations, Melanie! We’ll look for more awards to come before the end of the year!

Tags: ALA Awards, As the Crow Flies, awards, Cartoon Studies, CCS Alum, DINK Awards, EGL Awards, In the Margins Book Awards, Iron Circus, Melanie Gillman, Pockets, Stonewall Award Honor Book

The Center for Cartoon Studies in the Eisners, 2017!

On a Sunbeam, Exists, Blammo 9, and Ape and Armadillo covers

The 2017 Eisner nominees have been announced, and we have some excellent folks from The Center for Cartoon Studies in there.

On a Sunbeam, by Tillie Walden (′16) is up for Best Digital Comic.

Exits, by Daryl Seitchik (′18) through Koyama, is up for Best Graphic Album, New.

Ape and Armadillo Take Over the World, by James Sturm (CCS cofounder) through Toon Books, is up for Best Publication for Early Readers (up to age 8).

Blammo #9, by Noah Van Sciver (′15-′16 fellow) through Kilgore Books, is up for Best Single Issue / One Shot.

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: awards, Cartoon Studies, Comic-Con, Daryl Seitchik, Eisner, James Sturm, Noah Van Sciver, Tillie Walden

Doug Wright Nominee: Rebecca Roher

Bird in a Cage by Rebecca Roher

For the Doug Wright Awards this year, Rebecca Roher (’15) has been nominated for the Best Book Award for Bird in a Cage, published by Conundrum Press. Originally published in The Nib, the minicomic won the Expozine Award. Conundrum Press gave Rebecca the opportunity to expand on the original comic into a graphic novel.

Sample page from Bird in a Cage by Rebecca Roher

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: awards, Best Book, Bird in a cage, Cartoon Studies, Doug Wright Awards, Rebecca Roher, TCAF

Vermont Cartoonist Laureate: Alison Bechdel

Alison Bechdel getting a hug from Vermont’s recent Cartoonist Laureate, Ed Koren

Every three years, a new cartoonist laureate is crowned in Vermont. After the ceremony at the Vermont capitol in Montpelier, Alison Bechdel came straight down to The Center for Cartoon Studies. After some lovely words from Michelle Ollie, she talked about what her career has been, how she got to this point.

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: Alison Bechdel, awards, Cartoonist Laureate, Ed Koren, Fun Home, James Kochalka, MacArthur, Visiting Artist

The Center for Cartoon Studies in the DINKy award

The DINKys are the awards at the Denver Independent Comics and Art Expo and are in their second year. This weekend is DINK, and the awards are announced Saturday, April 8 at 7:30 p.m. The Center for Cartoon Studies family has some wonderful representatives! Good luck to you all!

Librarian Santiago Naranjo (′09) reading Something New by Lucy Knisley

Best-Work Self Published

Scraps by John Carvajal (’15)

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: A City Insid, awards, Cartoon Studies, Colleen Frakes, DINKy, John Carvajal, Lucy Knisley, Luke Howard, Noah Van Sciver, Something New, Tillie Walden